This specification provides APIs for websites to detect whether HDR formats, i.e. Dolby Vision, HDR10(+), and HLG, can be decoded and rendered by the browser. For HDR support detection, there are three main components whose capabilities need to be surfaced -- the decoder, renderer, and screen. The decoder takes in an encoded stream and produces a decoded stream understood by the renderer, which in turn maps the stream's signals to those the screen can properly output.


This API allows capable clients to enjoy high-end media playback experiences. Otherwise, HDR content does not get served to preserve networking bandwidth, playback quality, and power consumption.



Editor's draft

Status in Chromium


In development (tracking bug)

Consensus & Standardization

After a feature ships in Chrome, the values listed here are not guaranteed to be up to date.


Last updated on 2021-07-06